top of page

Ferdi - SunExpress - B737


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

Like many people, I wanted to become I pilot since I was a very little boy. I was fascinated with speed, airplanes, the sound, everything.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I did my training at CAE Amsterdam, Now called CAE Oxford Aviation Academy Amsterdam. I had a very nice time learning to fly. A very professional but friendly and supportive atmosphere.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

I flew the PA28-181 (Piper Archer), Later on I flew the DA40 en DA42.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

I think that the hardest part of the training was the fact that you don’t have time for anything else and that 100% of the focus was on the flight training. It was worth it, for sure, but it was the hardest part of the training in my opinion.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

I would advice them keep studying after high school, in order to always have a plan B and a better resume in general. In aviation you almost always have an alternate when flying, so why not have create an alternate for your future?

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

My first SOLO of course ! It is a super weird feeling when flying on downwind and looking to your right and NOT seeing your flight instructor sitting there. Most remarkable memory for most pilot I think.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

I love flying to the Greek island, because it is most of the time possible to fly nice visual approaches there. The scenery is just amazing in that Area.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

Probably that we earn millions a year, haha

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

Yes, like I mentioned before, I would do an extra study before applying for flight training. I did not do that because I was very focused on what I wanted, which was flying. But now I am older and more experienced I know It would have been very beneficial to have completed a different study before.

bottom of page