top of page

Eva Claire - Cathay Pacific - B747


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I changed from studying Literature and journalism to flight training. I was drawn by the combination of an interesting and sometimes challenging job with responsibility, and the possibility of different career paths (different aircraft types, long haul, short haul, business aviation etc). But also lifestyle, as it would make me live abroad, work with a lot of different people, and give me good travel opportunities.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I took an integrated ATPL course at CAE Amsterdam Nationale Luchtvaart School (now Oxford). It was 2 years of full time study with 8 months of theory, and 12 months flight training, single and multi engine. This was conducted in Mesa, Arizona and Portugal. I loved the practical part of the flight training.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

Piper Archer 28, TB 20 and Seneca 5.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

I struggled with the theory subject General Navigation, it took me some extra nights of studying before the exam!

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

If it is truly what you want, give it absolutely 100% effort, only then you will succeed.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

Passing my line check on the Boeing 737-800 is day I remember very vividly. It meant now training was done, I passed all stages and I was a fully qualified airline pilot.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

I love to fly to Scandinavia. Quiet airspace, good controllers and the best views!

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

That there is no hard work involved and it is just relying on automatics, or that the lifestyle is glamorous, it is not!

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

I recommend not to go from high school straight to flight training; first take on other studies so you have something to fall back on when the aviation market is low, or to give you other opportunities later besides flying. This is actually what I did myself by going to university before flight training, and I recommend other aspiring pilots to do something similar.

bottom of page