top of page

Zach - Qatar Airways - A319/20/21


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

My dad was a pilot himself. My mum was a cabin crew. I really grew up in the aviation family. It was in my blood from a very young age. I remember when I used to play aircraft models as toys with my brother at home. Seeing my dad going to "work" in the sky, it inspired me everyday to become like him.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

CTC Aviation in the UK. The training was challenging and time consuming but it was well worth it in the end. It really paid off if you put your work it and the quality of training was to the highest level of standard expected from pilot training organisation.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

I flew cessna 172 in NZ throughout. A320 simulator back in the UK during my instrument rating and type rating.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

Initially when I first flew for the first time. Nav solo flights are also very demanding and challenging because there's no one up there with you in case something badly goes wrong. You're up there trying to navigate through unfamiliar areas and environment. It's just you and the machine. And you know full well that's the engine of the plane is the only thing keeping you up in the air. It's daunting but it required hard work to know what to do in case something goes wrong. You need to know your aircraft.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Never give up. I used to think my dream of becoming a pilot was never going to be fulfilled but it came when I was 28 year old,so it's never too late. My advice would be to get into aviation industry as soon as you have the opportunities- doesn't matter if you're a cabin crew, check in staff, air traffic controller or ground staff, eventually you'll meet people who can help you becoming a pilot. You'll find a way.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

Definitely my first A320 landing with paying passengers. It was in Kuwait. The feeling after a successful landing was unreal.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

I'm still in training so I'm fairly limited to where I can fly to and I haven't flown to many nice destinations in our A320 route network yet. However, so far I have to say Pisa, Italy. The views enroute and also of the approach were beautiful. And the pizza was excellent! Haha.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

Pilots do nothing and the computers do it all. I wish they knew that without pilots, the aircraft couldn't even taxi by itself let alone fly!

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

Start early and never question if you can make it or how you're going get there. I used to think finance was a big issue because there's no way my parents could afford it. But if you love something, you pursuit it, the world will see your passion, your family, friends and relatives will see your passion. You never know who might give you that helping hand ($$) to fulfill your dream. Be a good, lovable person and work your arse off. God will repay you.

bottom of page