top of page

Alejandra Manriquez - EMB Legacy 600


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I always felt fascinated about how human kind achieved the dream of flying in the sky from one place to another the way birds do. At age 18 I started working at my local airport at the customer service department to be able to experience the aviation industry from the inside and learn more about aeroplanes and that is when I completely fell in love with aviation. Then I worked as a flight attendant for three years to be able to pay for my pilot training.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I did my Private Pilot Flight training at Fresno, California. My Commercial Pilot and Instrument Training was done at Pinnacle Aviation in Carlsbad, California. I had a great experience in both schools and enjoyed a lot to be able to fly around California's multiple bays, mountains, deserts, valleys and forests.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

I started my Private pilot training on a Piper PA38-112 Tomahawk and enjoyed a lot. Then I continued my Instrument and Commercial training on a Cessna 172 Skyhawk and did the multi engine phase on a Beechcraft 76 Duchess, both amazing aircraft as well! Good for learning and practicing maneuvers.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

Hardest part of training for me at first was learning to communicate in another language with technical words (English), since my native language is Spanish. Then the second hardest was learning navigation and to interpret the instruments. I had to go over and review the subject many times before I was able to master it.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Learn and study as much as you can, since nowadays information about aviation and books are easily accessible online and also I would encourage you to have a professional pilot mentor during your whole pilot career so they can give you technical advice as well as their expert advice.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

The first one was during my first solo flight, second when I passed my last professional test for training. Finally when I did my first transatlantic flight.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

Barcelona, because it has a beautiful approach and I love to stay there for the food, the people and being able to assist to a soccer match of my favourite soccer team in the world!

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

That there are no female pilots.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

Learning technical aviation english if it not yout first language.

bottom of page