top of page

Connor Shields - Southern Air - B777


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

When I was 4 years old I attended the Continental Airlines air show where my grandpa and I took a ride on an old Continental DC-3, which would be its last flight carrying passengers before retiring to a museum. It was the first flight I can remember and I fell in love with flying. From a young age I remember playing Microsoft Flight Simulator almost every day.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

For my 13th birthday my grandpa, who was also a private pilot in the past, bought me a discovery flight. It was my first of many lessons I took through grade school. I always thought of becoming a pilot as just a hobby so when I attended Texas A&M University I started taking lessons at the local flight school where I completed my private pilots license freshman year. My parents new neighbor, a United 787 Captain inspired me to make my hobby a career. So I went to ATP Flight School completing my instrument through MEI flight instructor in 80 days. I spent the next 11 months flight instructing, 8 months as captain on Beechcraft 99's, 11 months flying the E-175 at a regional, before landing a job flying the B-777 at Atlas Air.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

My initial training starting in a Piper Cherokee but included the C-172, C-162, and the Piper Seminole.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

For me the hardest part of training is the book work, I wanted my head in the clouds not in a book. To future aviators, do your book work, it will make training much easier throughout your career.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Work and specifically flying will take up a large part of the time you have in life. So make sure this is what you love, and if it is then don't be scared to jump into it. Don't listen to the negativity that comes from old grouchy pilots. This is a great career for people who love to fly. Seniority is everything, like myself, I am on a race to the top which is one of the three legacy carriers here in the United States, for you it may be your regions major airline. But making it there as soon as you can ensures you higher pay, a stable job, and a lesser chance of being laid off if you have high seniority at the airline.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

As much as I'd like to say flying the 777 for the first time. My best moment in the air was when I carried my parents as passengers on one of the United Express flights I was flying. They came on a layover to Mexico and flew back with me. It was very memorable and I felt like I made them proud.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

My favorite destination is Hong Kong, a very busy, challenging environment with a lot of terrain in the area. The city itself is great, many cultures converge there and I always enjoy seeing new parts.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

The biggest misconception or aggravation is when people ask me "when are you going to be a real pilot?". Which makes me laugh as I get to fly one of the biggest airliners but as you all know is first officers or co-pilots do fly. Typically every other flight as the captain and f.o. trade duties every other leg.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

I'm happy and humbled at where I am in my career but for anyone interested in starting a career in aviation I'd encourage you to read about it, play with flight simulators, and go see air shows.

bottom of page