top of page

Socsham - Emirates - B777


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I went to an airshow in Shannon when I was 5 years old and from that moment on, all I wanted to do was fly planes. I was fortunate enough to have parents who encouraged me and got me my first flying lesson when I was 16. The passion never left me and I did whatever I had to do to make the dream a reality.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I trained with Pilot Training College in Waterford, did my PPL, ATPLs, hour build and CPL/MEP all in Florida and the IR in Waterford. I really enjoyed the training. I made some of the best friends of my life out there. The training itself was quiet good. Pity they didn't focus on what they did best and got blind-sighted by the dollar signs and went under.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

The PPL and hour build was all done on a Piper Warrior and the Multi-Engine stuff was on the Piper Seminole.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

There's been a lot of times where I thought a particular moment or time in my training was the hardest, but it's all relative to the level of experience and stage of training you're currently at. Your first type rating is always going to be the hardest thing you'll do, but with that been said, I personally think the IR was the hardest part of my training.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

I would seriously think long and hard about whether or not someone truly wanted to get into flying. It is far from the glamour, big pay cheques and easy life that it comes across as. It is extremely expensive, it will take over your life and it will put you down over and over again. But it is all worth it when it finally starts to work in your favour. I waited 3 years after I finished my training to get my start. Stick with it and it will happen!

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

Honestly there isn't any one particular moment that stands out as my "best" moment. But there was nothing better than coming in to runway 25 in Cork, on a crappy day, max crosswind and nailing the landing. The adrenaline rush was something else. On my last day with Stobart Air I insisted on landing on 25 twice because I knew I'd never get an oppurtunity to have that challenge again.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

So far my favourite destination has been Seychelles. But I used to love flying to Manchester, and the approach into Jersey on a sunny day was amazing.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

Although I don't fly turboprops anymore, I think the one that stands out to me is the misconception that turboprops are unsafe. It was the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard. What I've learned since I got to Dubai is that the turboprop guys are every bit as capable as the jet guys and it stands to them going forward.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

I wish I'd done more research and not just gone with the first flight school I visited. Now don't get me wrong, I'm glad I went where I did. But I wish I'd done more research.

bottom of page