top of page

TRI & Line Training Captain - B787 - Anonymous


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

The dream was always there since young age. I started paragliding when I was 15, which was all I could afford (and barely that). At age 17 I was incredibly fortunate to be accepted into a flight school that was government sponsored. My first lesson there was the first time I ever sat in an aircraft!

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

ACS. That flight school has since closed its doors, but the training was solid. It asked a lot from the students, we spent many evenings and weekends on the school premises. Many of my closest friends today I met back there.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

Cessna 152, 172 and 182 for single engine. Cessna 340 for multi engine.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

ATPL theory. Already back then it was heavy, and I've heard it hasn't exactly gotten easier these days.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Sounds like a cliche, but here it is: never give up. That's it. If you really wanna be a pilot and never give up, you're gonna be a pilot. Maybe you're gonna have to go fly single engine props in Ghana or Indonesia on the way.. but you'll make it happen. Stay positive.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

Anytime I'm asked to take an empty airliner on a ferry flight. It doesn't happen too often of course, but that feeling is great! No pax, no cabin crew, just me and the FO, like two buddies taking a 200 million dollar machine for a spin :)

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

LAX. Love that RIIVR 3 arrival for its challenge and great views

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

That it's kinda easy after all, just autopilot and chill, right? No. If you're flying short haul you're probably under constant stress to meet the schedule. If you're flying long haul you constantly battle short and long term fatigue. No matter what you fly you feel the weight of the responsibility. Piloting ain't easy.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

I wish I had learned proven study methods at early age. We just tell our kids "to study harder" but with very little instruction how. There is a lot of resources out there on how to learn more efficiently.

bottom of page