top of page

Sam G - British Airways - B777


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I have always been interested in airplanes and flying when I was a little kid. Because no one in my family flies, it never occurred to me that I could actually do that as a profession. When I was 13 years old we were on a holiday in Slovenia and we went for a sight seeing flight in a Cessna propeller airplane. During the flight the (female) pilot let me have a go at flying the airplane! From that moment onwards it got stuck in my mind, and I knew I wanted to become a pilot.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I did my integrated training through EPST (European Pilot Selection and Training). I did my selections with them in The Netherlands, and most of the training was done at Oxford Aviation Academy in the UK. I had an amazing time there! I started with 6 months of ATPL theory, whilst I was living in dorms at the airport. It was a period where you had to make sure to keep up with the pace and make sure you were studying. But off course we also had time to have some fun. After I passed all my exams, I went to Phoenix, Arizona to start the flight training. In total I spend about 6 months flying from Goodyear airport. The IR phase was done back at Oxford. My instructor would also want us to fly in weather that wasn't great. So we would sometimes be one of the only airplanes to go flying (weather would still be within limits off course). This way we learned how to fly in sometimes challenging conditions. The final stage of the course was the MCC/AJFC course (Multi Crew Co-Operation/Airline Jet Foundation Course). This was done in Maarssen, The Netherlands with EPST.

Overall I had a great time during the training. It is an intense course and there is a strict planning you should adhere to. I do think that this has prepared me perfectly for working in commercial aviation.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

My VFR training was flown on a PA28 Piper Warrior, the IR phase was done on an PA34 Seneca. I did the MCC/AJFC on a FNPT || (fixed based simulator) Boeing 737-800.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

I think it can be challenging to keep up with the pace of the course sometimes. You really have to put your effort in all the time to not fall behind with the programme. During the flight training in the States I had to go home (The Netherlands) due to family affairs. I was away from training for 2 weeks and I had to work very hard to make sure I got back on track. My CPL check was done on the last day that I was in Phoenix! During the groundschool phase you will have to spend a lot of time in the books. I would often study after classes in the evening and during the weekend as well. So you don't have much time left for a job for example. It was convenient that I was doing the training in a different country to where my family and friends were living, so I would have less distractions.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Make sure that you are absolutely convinced that this is the profession for you. It is a job that comes with a lot of responsibilities. There will be times (during training and later in your career) that you will have to put things aside because of flying. It can be that you will have to accept a job in a country far away from where everyone you know lives. The training can be very expensive which can feel like a heavy weight on your shoulders especially when you cannot find a job straight away. Just make sure that you keep on working the hardest that you can because you never know what might be just around the corner. Aviation is a fast changing environment, so you always have to be ready to seize the opportunities.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

My best moment in the air would probably my 'first flights'. Offcourse my first solo flight was an amazing experience and a day to always remember. An other great memory was my first flight as an commercial airline pilot in a Boeing 737-800. It is hard to describe the feeling that I had the very first time I was the Pilot Flying, doing a take off in the real airplane with 189 passengers on board. The Safety pilot who was sitting on the jumpseat said that he could hear how exited I was when I said 'Check' after the Captain called '80 knots'. Due to weather it was a long and interesting day, which I will never forget.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

I love flying to new destinations and seeing new places. But the airport I like to fly to the most is Tenerife South (GCTS/TFS). I had a time where I was flying here all the time. It made me familiar with the airport, and the typical weather. You can get gusty and changing winds here, which can make it into a challenging approach and landing. It really feels as an accomplishment if you can make a smooth landing out of a bumpy approach.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

That it makes you very rich. I had to invest a lot of money into flight training (I did an integrated self sponsored route). I had to get a big loan from a bank, and I am still paying it back. Also some people believe that we always let the Autopilot land the airplane. We rarely do.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

I went straight from high school/secondary school into my flight training. I knew I wanted to fly, so I didn't want to waste any time. Now I am working I would like to be able to do some studying and possibly get a degree. With a full time job it proves to be a lot harder than I would have thought ;) So if you also aspire to get a degree, even just as a backup plan, think about doing it before you start flying. Besides that, just try to read some books about flying to get into the terminology of flying/aviation. This will help you in your further training.

bottom of page