top of page

Jonathan Smith - EasyJet - A319/20


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I first flew aged 9, from Manchester to Alicante with Monarch Airlines. I was terrified looking out over a dark airfield but as soon as I got onboard I just knew I had to join the airline industry. I was instantly hooked and the fear of the unknown disappeared. The smart uniforms, the glamour, the image...I just loved it. Every time I went on holiday I just had to get in the flight deck, pre 9/11 this was possible and it made my holiday!

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I obtained my PPL at Westair Flying Club, Blackpool, saving for months to do an hour's lesson it took from aged 14-18 to complete. I then did 2 years with the Liverpool University Air Squadron but always knew I wanted to be an airline pilot so applied to CTC McAlpine and was lucky enough to achieve full sponsorship with easyJet. This 2 year course included 9 months in New Zealand basic training on Katanas and the Piper Seminole before travelling back to Bournemouth for the CPL/IR. We then joined easyJet and completed type rating training on the Boeing 737 before moving on to the Airbus A320.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

DA40 Diamond Katanas for single engine, the Piper Seminole and Duchess for twin engine training.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

For me, probably the CPL! I'm not great at finding a church by a crossroads flying VFR xD. The IR (Instrument Rating) and instrument flying came much more naturally to me.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Stay focussed. You must have the passion in the first place and this will help with the focus but the training is intense. Knuckle down, all the effort pays off.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

Probably base training on the Boeing 737. Its the first time you get your hands on a jet airliner and it's truly exhilarating!

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

I really enjoy the challenges of Funchal, Madeira. It requires extra training in order to legally operate into there and often produces some quite challenging flying conditions. It's a hands on/visual operation which takes a pilot back to what they enjoy the most, flying the aircraft manually, using skill and airmanship.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

That it's glamorous! Unfortunately the low cost revolution has meant jumping on a plane is like catching a bus. There are no long layovers downroute any more, no first class meals. It's multi sector days with minimum time downroute.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

Everything I did in order to achieve my goals I'd do again. I got work experience at airlines whilst at school, cleaned aircraft in return for flying lessons, researched the ins and outs of the industry. The one thing I'd have liked to have done is travel after university prior to starting flying training with CTC but I guess I get to travel a bit now as a pilot!

bottom of page