top of page

Natalia - Avianca - A330


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I always wanted to become a pilot since I was a child, every time I heard a plane I ran to the window of my house searching that plane in the sky, and I though " I want to be there one day ". I always felt affinity with airplanes, it was like I fell in love every time I went to the airport to meet or say good bye to a relative, and I always wanted to be near the airplanes and I stayed there the most time I could.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I took my training in Bogotá which is the capital city of Colombia in South America. The academy name is Aeroclub de Colombia, it is located in a local Airport named Guaymaral, about 40 minutes away from my house. The training was a little difficult for me because I used to work at the same time, in order to pay for the flight training, so my schedules at my job sometimes overtook my ground school at the flight academy. Somedays I just had 3 or 4 hours to sleep, however the academy and my family were very supportive with my situation. Nevertheless I enjoyed the training so much, because I was accomplishing my dream, and I was doing what I love must.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

The flight academy has three types of airplanes: Cessna 152, Cessna 172 and Piper 28 , I had the chance to choose the plane for my first hours, so I chose the Piper 28. When I was in the instrument stage I flew Cessna 172, but most of my training was done in Piper 28.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

The hardest part of my training definitely was that I was working at the same time. As I said, I enjoyed the training with all my heart, but the time to study for quizzes was reduced considerably.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilot?

Never to give up and chase your dreams, at the hardest times always keep in mind that this job is one of the best in the world specially if you do it with your heart.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

My best moment was in my final check ride on the Airbus 320 in the airline I was hired. As I have never flew an airplane bigger than the Piper in the academy, this moment was amazing, because I realized that I finally accomplished my dream.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

For many reasons, including very busy airport, airlines from all over the world, heavy planes everywhere you look, challenging approaches, and amazing city, my favorite destination to fly to is New York.

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

People thinks the airplane is always on AutoPilot, and that we are not necessary to fly the airplanes.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

The best advice that I can give you is to study more than the flight Academy tells you to. Research, read, keep yourself updated as much as you can. Sometimes, we think that the ground school that we take at the Academies gives us the complete training that an airline requires, but the truth is that they give you just the basics, and is up to us to become better pilots, to be above standard, and to prepare ourselves to be the best in what we do.

bottom of page