top of page

Tim Hearn - Virgin Atlantic - A330


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I was always fascinated by aeroplanes as a kid, my parents took me to lots of airshows and I loved travelling on holiday, I was looking for any excuse to fly.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I was offered a Modular Internship with Cabair at Biggin Hill where I worked as an operations assistant for two years whilst doing my PPL, Night and IMC ratings, I was then sent to Bournemouth to do my ATPL ground school and CPL and I completed my training with BCFT also in bournemouth. The training was enjoyable and I made some great friends along the way.

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

C152, PA28, AA5, BE76 Duchess, Piper Arrow

4) What was your hardest part of training?

Finishing and having to find a job!

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilots

Do your homework, plan your training costs and add at least a 10% buffer. Decide whether you whether you want to/ are able to go Integrated or Modular for training. Plan to work for a year or so after training while you are in a hold pool or looking for a flying related job. It is an amazing career but it has its challenges and is absolutely not as glamorous as people think so if you want to fly, do it for the passion not the perceived glamour!

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

The first time I walked out to the King Air, we got airborne and were cleared to climb to above 20,000, it was higher and faster than I’d ever flown before, then with Monarch and the A320/321 doing touch and go circuits and the first time you climb above 30,000, it was yet higher and faster than I’d flown. Most recently doing the walk around of a Virgin Atlantic A330, the shear size of the thing is incredible up close and then getting airborne to fly across the pond for a short trip to the Caribbean.

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

Flying for Monarch my favourite destination was Innsbruck, a challenging airport with some very early flights but incredibly rewarding. I haven’t been to all the Virgin A330 destinations yet but so far New York and Barbados are pretty good!

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

People think pilots just sit there and push buttons while we fly, this is absolutely not true, we also drink tea and read the paper!

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

It’s a very rewarding career and I wouldn’t want to do anything else but it won’t necessarily be an easy ride, you will have to work hard throughout your training and you’re not guaranteed a job at the end of it (no matter what your training school says!). When you do get that job though, its worth it all!

bottom of page