top of page

Phil W - Lufthansa - B747


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

There was no key moment that made me want to become a pilot. It has been my childhood dream since day 1. Nobody in my family has anything to do with aviation: no friends, no nothing! Nobody knows where my urge came from.

2) Where did you train and describe your experience training there?

I was lucky enough to get accepted at the ab intio training at Lufthansa Flight Training. I started my training in Bremen at the LFT centre with a couple of months of theoretical training. Then we flew to Phoenix, Arizona and did our PPL training there. Then another couple months of theory in Bremen and then the long CPL flight training in Phoenix, Arizona again.

Once back in Bremen, it was time for the big ATPL theory exams. All passed and then we did the multi engine flight training in Bremen again. Finally, after about 24 months we were done with all the training.

The training was very professional and the whole training was aimed at flying big jets and not 'only' small props. We had excellent instructors who were quite demanding, but fair and supportive. Our theory teachers all had great knowledge of their specific topics and were able to teach us everything properly. Overall it was a great time, I enjoyed it a lot!

3) What aircraft did you fly during your initial training?

I started flying the Piper Archer Pa28-181/A. It was a nice aircraft to begin with. Very forgiving and quite easy to handle as a beginner. Later for the CPL phase, I flew the Beechcraft Bonanza BE-33/A. It was quite a powerful aircraft which was fully IFR equipped. Compared to the PA28, it was a little trickier to fly, but still lots of fun. Our multi engine training was done on the Piper Cheyenne PA42. A very powerful turboprop aircraft.

4) What was your hardest part of training?

Good question ;-) For me it was quite hard to do all the theory first without actually doing some flying. I had never flown before I started my training. In the theory phase you get all the information and training about the flying and many things were a bit difficult to visualize what is going on. Once I started flying in the training aircraft, it all became 100% clear and made perfect sense.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilots?

It is tough training but not impossible. It is a lot of study in quite short time. If you stay up to date and review the things you've learnt, then you will be fine.

Don't try to be someone you are not. Be yourself, be open, ask questions and don't accept it if you didn't understand something.

6) What has been your best moment in the air?

I cannot really tell 'the' best moment. There have been so many to be honest. The first flight with me on the controls in the PA28 was amazing. I am flying!!

The first solo flight. Wow, no instructor anymore next to you, I am a pilot flying this aircraft on my own and nobody can help me now!

Passing the big ATPL theory exams. It was a major step and I was happy when I passed.

The first flight with a jet! It was a Boeing 737-800 and I felt proud and happy and finally being there where I always wanted to be.

The first flight with the Queen of the Skies. The B747-400. For many as well as a childhood dream. You can't imagine how I felt when I was sitting in the real aircraft, in control, and we took off. What a feeling!

7) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

For me it is Los Angeles (KLAX/LAX). I like the approach coming from in from the east over the mountains with Big Bear Lake and then over the huge city of Los Angeles. The airport ahead of us and the Pacific Ocean behind it. I like the city, it is huge, so much to do. Spend time at the beach, walk up mountains, visiting some sights or museums and shopping as well if you are into that ;-)

8) What is the biggest misconception that people have about your job?

I like that question. There seem to be many myths about the job. But what I am always wondering is: Why do people ask me if we fly straight back to Frankfurt after 13.5 hour flight through the night? Do they really think we work 48 hours without any sleep or rest?! Thank God we have our duty and rest times ;)

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do?

I don't think I missed doing anything before my flight training commenced. I still don't after 13 years of flying. I personally think that knowing different languages can be quite useful if you fly long haul. So you can have basic conversations with the local people instead of trying to speak English with everyone.

A technical background can be helpful as well as you would have a more detailed insight of an aircraft.

Overall I am very happy that I made it becoming a pilot and I would happily do it again.

bottom of page