top of page

Mimbar Ali


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?​

I've always had an interest in aviation as a young boy, it was only really on a family holiday that I really had the firsthand experience of what it was like working for an airline. I spent most of the 7 hour flight in the cabin chatting to the crew, asking what they thought about the job, and also what it was really like. It was all positive feedback and really cemented the idea that aviation was a great place to work, that was almost 24 years ago now!

2) What aircraft did you fly your initial training?

​I had about 45 hours on Piper Warrior before I stared the ATPL, it helped but Commercial training is a massive step up from Private flying. I had the pleasure of flying the Diamondstar DA40 Single Engine, and DA42 twin engine during my training. Spoilt really as it was full Fadec, GPS (not that we were allowed to use it) and just wonderful to fly. Throughly enjoyed it and it was great to fly a glass cockpit aircraft, it naturally led into the cockpit of an airliner.

3) What was your hardest part of your training?

Honestly, the weather! There were many days of being sat around waiting to fly. A lot less of that now! But we managed to survive, it turns out student pilots can be quite creative when waiting for the temperamental UK weather to improve!

4) What is the biggest misconception people have about your job?​

I do feel sometimes people are more interested in how many followers they have on Instagram or how many likes they have on Facebook rather than painting the real picture. The fact is the job is hard, it's getting harder, longhaul is tough on your body, and seeing your friends in aviation takes a real effort when you've just got back from a 14 hour flight. But somehow, we make it work. The job offers great opportunities, and those before me, and after me will make it work. After all, as hard as it is, I still am very passionate about it, otherwise I'd have given up years ago! Flyings an addiction.... and I wouldn't change it for the world.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilots?

​Honestly, the job isn't what it use to be, it's great for flying, but we're all working to our limits, anywhere in the world, at any company, It's still a great job, don't get me wrong, but times have changed. Make sure you really want to do it, as it's the passion that will get you through. Don't be fooled by Instagram posts making the job out to be glamorous, you'll likely for your first job be paid pennies, living somewhere a million miles from home, and flying something you never realised existed. That being said, I wouldn't change my career, because I love flying, but I would suggest new pilots think long and hard what they want from their careers. Life's for living, not working too hard! This is coming from someone who's been there so you'll just have to trust me.

6) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

​Birmingham because I get to go home! I get to see the world every day but honestly, nothing beats going home.

7) Where did you train, and describe your experience training there?

I trained at Cabair in 2005, unfortunately it has since been bankrupt, an unfortunate turn of events due to several factors but mainly the financial crisis. It was a great school and I've made some great friends along the way there, 99% of which are flying for the majors around the world. It's a shame as it really was a great school!

8) What has been your best moment in the air?

Without doubt flying over the North Pole and seeing the Northern Lights. It was spectacular, and lucky as seeing as I never saw them when I went to Iceland specifically!

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training, that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do ?

​I did everything I needed to... Just read as much as you can, get a real understanding of the physics of flying and what an aircraft can and can't do. I had read all the PPL books before I even understood all of the theory ! But I would also suggest taking up some kind of activity you enjoy, anything to take your mind off things. I wish I had taken up Calisthenics as it's a great way to exercise and it provides a real energy release. Sometimes learning just gets repetitive and boring... Just get use to it !

bottom of page