top of page

Rupert Max - B787


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?​

My family comes from an aviation background. Uncles, grandparents, my mother. My dad has worked with passion his entire life as an engineer for 40 years in Austrian Airlines & Lufthansa, also 12 years in Emirates. Being on an airport, around aircrafts and crew so much has influenced me a lot and made such an environment very "homey". Distances and flights were absolutely normal to me and I've never had to adapt to being in new places or around new people.

2) What aircraft did you fly your initial training?​

During my initial training for the CPL/ frozen ATPL we flew on glass cockpit C172s.

3) What was your hardest part of your training?

​I was working a lot and studying for the courses at the same time. So finding time to breathe for my own life was difficult, but doable. My girlfriend at the time helped, pushed and motivated me every day.

4) What is the biggest misconception people have about your job?

​The "high life" I guess. It's not all fun and games. Relationships between friends and family are difficult and physical fatigue is imminent. It's demanding, but very rewarding. Being in aviation puts you into a real family, since we crew learn to feel what the sacrifice is. And: it's not just autopilot and chill ;)

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilots?​

Be consequent in what you do and be sure you want to join the aviation world. There's no talent. There's just dedicated hard work and training.

6) What is your favourite destination to fly to?​

So many destinations around the world amaze me, but flying the airplane homebound to Vienna is always the best for me. It's a very close race after Vienna though...

7) Where did you train, and describe your experience training there?

​I started flying in Cyprus in the local gliding club of the British military at the age of 12 and progressed to motorized aircrafts slowly throughout the years. My professional training began in Austria after finishing school during my military career. Jet Alliance Flight Training, an executive flight school was the name and we were located slightly south of Vienna.

8) What has been your best moment in the air?

​There are a lot of "best" moments which stay memorable. Like in every job: you've got good days and not so good days. The days I love and treasure most are those where the entire team of flight deck and cabin crew work seamlessly together. We laugh, be professional and trust eachother immensely. Especially the days we laugh so much that neither of us has enough breath to respond to an ATC call are some of my favorites.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training, that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do ?

​There are some things I can think of but they have mostly nothing to do with aviation. Private choices or previous career moves. But I can't say if I'd had the chance to go back now to do things differently that things would turn out better, since I'm very happy about where I am now. The path I've formed has formed me to who I am today and for that I am thank full and appreciate the experiences I look back on.

bottom of page