top of page

Benjamin S - B777


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?​

I always wanted to be a pilot since I was really young. I think the passion started on a flight from Paris to Mauritius. I was 4 yo, and began to be really fascinated with aircraft and the passion is still going strong!

2) What aircraft did you fly your initial training?

​C152 C172 PA28 PA34

3) What was your hardest part of your training?​

Hardest part of training was when I transitioned from Multi-Engine Piston (MEP) to Jet aircraft. Everything goes faster in a jet, and they expect you to be ready and professional on first day. Aircraft Systems are also much more complex. What you also learn in flight school is different in an airline environment. Be ready and flexible.

4) What is the biggest misconception people have about your job?​

"Pilots are doing nothing. Using auto pilot. Reading the news Paper!" The fact is we are constantly monitoring the aircraft systems, the route the weather, to plan where we acn divert to in case of problem ! AND! We are here especially in case of emergency. Issues arise even though passengers are not aware of it. Secondly, firm landing or smooth landing does not make us a bad or better pilot !

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilots?

​Become a pilot only if you are a really passionate.You will need to make a lot of sacrifices. If you don't love aviation dont go for it. Pilots are working at night, on Sunday, on Christmas, on your girlfriend's birthday!

6) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

​I like to go to many places ! The 777 fleet in my airline has realy awesome destinations. We have short and long haul. It can take us 40 mins to fly to Doha or 17h to Auckland! I personally like smaller airports like Seychelles, Nice, Seattle and Phuket... Where the approach is challenging with terrain, wind or complex weather. I also like some bigger aiports such as Singapore, Hong Kong, Bangkok and Dallas... they are all really busy places with tough weather which really demand concentration.

7) Where did you train, and describe your experience training there?​

I did my PPL in France in an Aero Club whilst I was taking a degree in university. When I finished university, I moved to Canada. I went to a flight school called "Exact Air" for my CPL IR ME FI. After my training, I stayed in Canada for 2 years flying the C152, C712 as a flight instructor for the PPL and CPL. Ocassionally I would fly the Piper Seneca forCargo operations. I came back to France to convert my license. I did a Boeing 737 classic/NG type rating and I got hired by Lion Air in 2011. Now I am on the B777.

8) What has been your best moment in the air?​

It s a bit difficulct to pin point one, I have so many achievements till now. Here is a list : When I finally got my CPL License. When I did my first student solo.When I did my first walk around and realised how big my aircraft is. When I flew a jet for the first time.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training, that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do ?

Well a good thing to do is to fly gliders. For the non English speaker, learn the English language as soon as possible. Study any other field, even aviation related in case of medical problem or lack of job!

bottom of page