top of page

Jim Jenkins - Emirates - B777


1) Tell us what made you want to become a pilot?

I can't remember a time when I didn't want to fly. I'm told I was about 3 when I put it into words. Something very instinctive I guess, but as a grown up, I love the challenge and the freedom still. My older brother also flies 777s and he had a similar subconscious draw to the skies.

2) What aircraft did you fly your initial training?

​I started on the T67-M Firefly and then moved to the Jetstream Tmk1.

3) What was your hardest part of your training?

I found low-level navigation really hard. In general, I had to learn to stay focused if I made a mistake or if something didn't go well. Resilience is a massive watchword in aviation.

4) What is the biggest misconception people have about your job?​

People only see us when things are really good, or god forbid, in an accident. They rarely see the amount of background, knowledge, planning, decision making and resilience that goes into even the most mundane flight. We're not button pushers when things are easy or heroes when we sort out a problem. We're just well trained professionals.

5) What advice would you give to aspiring pilots?

Be prepared to go anywhere and fly anything. A lot of guys are desperate to fly jets and miss out on serious fun. If the Airbus/Boeing guys aren't hiring, then be prepared to fly turboprops (or pistons) in weird places for low wages. You'll have a blast, have some cool stories to tell, a good reputation in a small industry and some serious experience when the jet guys are hiring.

6) What is your favourite destination to fly to?

Bangkok I think. Muay Thai is my hobby and I love the people (and the food).

7) Where did you train, and describe your experience training there?

I started in the RAF, although I got a knock back at the end of advanced training, when a few of us were told we wouldn't be progressing to OCUs. Massive kick in the teeth at the time, but in the long run it helped me evaluate my strengths and weaknesses. Ironically, something which has stood me in good stead. I went on to do my exams and initial commercial training in Florida, before converting my licences in Coventry, UK. Work-wise, I had a short spell para-dropping before flying in Africa for nearly a year on a humanitarian operation in Congo and then a first airline job with flybe. When flybe hit problems, I went to flydubai and had 3 years, where I upgraded and had a year as a 737 captain. Now I'm just converting onto the 777 with Emirates.

8) What has been your best moment in the air?​

A lot! Some amazing sunrises all over the world, some fun approaches with a good mate in the other seat, eating breakfast over the Himalayas.Probably a routine flight back to Dubai that saw me handed my stripes and called captain for the first time.

9) Was there something you wish you did prior to starting your flight training, that would be beneficial for aspiring pilots to do ?

​Personally I could have done with a few more years of uni, or the wide world to grow up a bit and become more rounded. But everyone's different. Know your strengths, work on your weaknesses and don't be afraid to go for a beer when your work's done for the week!

bottom of page